EUROPLANT breeds success

Breeding of a new potato variety is the basis for the success of our potatoes

Successful breeding work implies knowing today what will be in line with the market tomorrow. Together with our colleagues at Böhm-Nordkartoffel Agrarproduktion GmbH & Co. OHG (BNA) and their breeding partners, we work every day to develop potato varieties that can compete in national and international markets.

On the three German Böhm-Nordkartoffel Agrarproduktion GmbH & Co. OHG (BNA) breeding stations in Kaltenberg (Bavaria), Ebstorf (Lower Saxony) and Böhlendorf (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania), combinations are crossed to produce more than 1,000 new genetic variations each year. As a biotechnological centre of excellence, BIOPLANT Biotechnologisches Forschungslabor GmbH is responsible for basic research.

The main objectives of modern potato breeding are commitment to healthy nutrition, environmentally friendly production methods, and protection of natural resources.

Our EUROPLANT varieties are classically bred using conventional breeding techniques from non-genetically modified crossing partners.

In close collaboration with the scientific competence of BIOPLANT Biotechnologisches Forschungslabor GmbH and the comprehensive breeding expertise of Böhm-Nordkartoffel Agrarproduktion GmbH & Co. OHG (BNA), we have been taking a leading position in our industry for many years.

Research and Development

Adaptation and optimisation of our breeding work

Due to increased market requirements and ultimate consumer needs, our different potato varieties have to undergo permanent specific application adaptations and optimisation processes. Therefore, all efforts in research and development are continuously aimed at adapting and optimising the potato varieties on offer.

Our market-oriented research, which seeks close co-operations with the industrial sector, is further anxious to develop innovative potato varieties for new areas of application.

As a member of the German Plant Breeders' Association, we are involved in collective research projects of potato breeding companies and scientific institutions. Current research subjects are dealing with pathogens of potato diseases and with the optimisation of the potato as a source of starch.

Breeding Progress

We only select the best

Our sister-company Böhm-Nordkartoffel Agrarproduktion GmbH & Co. OHG (BNA) is doing more than 1000 crossings every year. The initial crossings are based on selected parent plants from a large gene pool of breeding material and the international range of varieties. The parent plants are crossed with each other with the objective of the desired quality and the further breeding goals.

The breeding and approval process of a new variety usually takes ten years. During this time, the new varieties are tested for more than forty characteristics. Next to the outer tuber characteristics and foliage ratings, there will be yield measurement, resistance and quality tests for the different uses of our potatoes.

The selection process starts with over 300,000 seeds, which grow up to little seedlings in our glasshouses and are going to the fields afterwards. Each of those seedlings own a different genotype and could be a potential new variety. In the course of the annual selection, the number of the seedlings reduces enormously. After eight years only a handful of candidates are doing the next step to the official test in one of the federal plant variety offices in the EU. Having passed successfully the official tests during two years the new breed will be a variety. After approval by the German Seed Marketing Act, the new variety can be traded commercially. The breeder receives the plant breeders’ rights of the new variety.

BNA has four breeding stations in different parts of Germany

  • Böhlendorf – Mecklenburg-Western Pommerania
  • Ebstorf – Lower Saxony
  • Kaltenberg – Bavaria
  • Idaho Falls - USA

The following stations from our breeding partners complete our breeding activities

  • Dr. R.J. Mansholt’s Veredelingsbedrijf (Netherlands)
  • Zuchtbetrieb R. Jacobs (Germany)
  • Saatzucht Berding (Germany)
  • Saatzucht Pohl (Germany)
  • Sativa Kerkov (Czech Republic)

At 40 trial stations, we test the suitability for cultivation and the quality of our new breeding lines.

In addition, we have a wide range of contacts and breeding partnerships abroad, which form a successful breeding network with our German locations.

Current methods of molecular biology have been an integral part of our breeding work for many years.

  • The In-vitro culture – forms the principal technique of the maintenance and rapid multiplication of our potato varieties.
  • ELISA-test – an immunobiological procedure for the detection of potato viral diseases.
  • PCR-technique – allows the fast identification of varieties or breeding lines through genetic fingerprinting, as well as the examination of breeding material for infection by various pathogens.

Maintenace breeding

Healthy high performance seeds are essential

Healthy and efficient seed potatoes are the basis of quality potato production. Due to its vegetative nature, seed multiplication involves a high potential risk of disease transmission. With the development of bioengineering techniques, new developments in conservationary breeding have emerged. Single plants are no longer the basis of seed potato production. They have been replaced by plants from test tubes, so-called in-vitro-plants, which grow in our laboratory at BIOPLANT.

At BIOPLANT, tubers of disease-free and true-breeding parent material are used for the establishment of tissue cultures. The tops of the sprouts of these tubers are first disinfected and then cultivated in test tubes with specific nutrient media under sterile conditions. A few weeks later, small plants are developing in the test tubes.

For multiplication purpose the plants are cut into two or three pieces under sterile conditions – each part must show at least one leaf, as the leaf axil contains a resting bud, which develops into a new shoot. This technique has the advantage of high multiplication rate and all season availability.

Each year, the BIOPLANT laboratory delivers more than 450,000 in-vitro plants to our maintenance stations. Our maintenance stations are located in:

  • Freiburg an der Elbe (Lower Saxony/Germany)
  • Böhlendorf (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania/Germany)
  • Kruckow (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania/Germany)
  • Hohenbrünzow (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania/Germany)
  • Obliwice (Gmina Nowa Wieś Lęborska/Poland)

The first generations of seed potatoes are multiplied by our colleagues from BNA in the healthiest German regions. The multipliers are situated in:

  • Böhlendorf (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania)
  • Kruckow (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania)
  • Hohenbrünzow (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania)

The propagation areas of our contract farmers are located in the best potato cultivation areas in Germany.

Through our European EUROPLANT subsidiaries, we also multiply seeds in the preferred European propagation areas, such as in Finland, the Netherlands and France.

EUROPLANT züchtet Erfolg

Die Züchtung einer neuen Sorte bildet den Grundstein des Erfolges unserer Kartoffeln

Eine erfolgreiche Züchtung erfordert vorausschauendes Denken, denn die Zuchtziele der Kartoffel befinden sich in einem ständigen Wandel. Gemeinsam mit unseren Kollegen bei der BNA und deren Züchtungspartnern arbeiten wir täglich daran, Kartoffelsorten zu entwickeln, die auf den nationalen und internationalen Märkten bestehen können.

Auf den drei Zuchtstationen der BNA in Kaltenberg (Bayern), Ebstorf (Niedersachsen) und Böhlendorf (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern) werden pro Jahr durch mehr als 1.000 Kreuzungskombinationen neue genetische Variationen erzeugt. Als biotechnologisches Kompetenzzentrum sichert BIOPLANT die Grundlagenforschung. Dabei steht die Züchtungsarbeit immer im Dienst einer gesunden Ernährung, einer umweltgerechten Produktion und der Schonung von natürlichen Ressourcen.

Unsere EUROPLANT Kartoffelsorten sind klassisch gezüchtet, unter Verwendung konventioneller Züchtungsmethoden aus gentechnisch nicht veränderten Kreuzungspartnern.

In Verbindung mit der wissenschaftlichen Kompetenz von BIOPLANT und dem umfassenden Züchtungs-Know-how der BNA nehmen wir seit Jahren eine führende Position in unserer Branche ein.
 

Forschung und Entwicklung

Anpassung und Optimierung der Züchtungsarbeit

Die steigenden Ansprüche der Landwirtschaft und der Verbraucher an unsere verschiedenen Kartoffelsorten verlangen eine ständige Anpassung und Optimierung der Züchtungsarbeit und sind somit das oberste Ziel der Forschung und Entwicklung bei EUROPLANT.

Darüber hinaus ist die Entwicklung von innovativen Kartoffelsorten für Industrie und Handel in neuen Anwendungsfeldern das Ziel einer marktorientierten Züchtung.

Als Mitglied des GFPi e.V. sind wir zusätzlich an gemeinschaftlichen Forschungsprojekten von anderen Kartoffelzuchtunternehmen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen beteiligt. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen befassen sich unter anderem mit Erregern von Kartoffelkrankheiten und mit der Optimierung der Kartoffel als Lieferant für Spezialstärke.

Züchtung

Nur die Besten kommen weiter

Unsere Schwesterfirma Böhm-Nordkartoffel Agrarproduktion GmbH & Co. OHG (BNA) führt jährlich über 1000 Kreuzungen von ausgewählten Elternpflanzen durch. Diese stammen aus einem umfangreichen Genpool von Züchtungsmaterial und dem internationalen Sortenspektrum. Die Elternpflanzen werden unter der Maßgabe der gewünschten Qualität und der weiteren Zuchtziele miteinander gekreuzt.

Der Züchtung- und Zulassungsprozess einer neuen Sorte dauert in der Regel zehn Jahre. Die Neuzüchtungen werden in dieser Zeit auf mehr als 40 Merkmale untersucht. Neben äußeren Knollenmerkmalen und Krautbonituren folgen Ertragsmessungen sowie Resistenz- und Qualitätsprüfungen für die verschiedenen Verwendungsrichtungen.

Ausgangsbasis für den achtjährigen Ausleseprozess bilden 300.000 Samen, die im Gewächshaus zu Sämlingsknollen heranwachsen und dann ausgepflanzt werden. Jeder Sämling hat einen anderen Genotyp und kann potentiell zu einer neuen Sorte werden. Doch durch die mehrjährige Selektion auf die gewünschten Zuchtziele verringert sich die Anzahl der Stämme enorm. Daraus resultiert, dass nach acht Jahren nur noch eine Hand voll Kandidaten den nächsten Schritt in die zweijährige Wertprüfung in einem Sortenamt innerhalb der EU machen. Erst nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Wertprüfung wird eine Neuzüchtung zu einer Sorte und darf nach Anerkennung durch das Saatgutverkehrsgesetz kommerziell gehandelt werden. Mit Erteilung des Sortenschutzes durch das Bundessortenamt erhält der Züchter den Schutz seines geistigen Eigentums.

Die BNA verfügt über vier Zuchtstationen auf denen die Neuzüchtung betrieben wird.

  • Böhlendorf – Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
  • Ebstorf – Niedersachsen
  • Kaltenberg – Bayern
  • Idaho Falls - USA

Die folgenden Züchtungspartner ergänzen unsere Züchtungsaktivitäten:

  • Dr. R.J. Mansholt’s Veredelingsbedrijf (Niederlande)
  • Zuchtbetrieb R. Jacobs (Deutschland)
  • Saatzucht Berding (Deutschland)
  • Saatzucht Pohl (Deutschland)
  • Sativa Kerkov (Tschechien)

Auf 40 Prüfstandorten testen wir unsere Neuzüchtungen auf Anbaueignung und Qualität.

Darüber hinaus verfügen wir im Ausland über vielfältige Kontakte und Züchtungskooperationen, die mit unseren deutschen Standorten ein erfolgreiches Züchtungsnetzwerk bilden.

Aktuelle Verfahren der Molekularbiologie sind bei uns seit Jahren fester Bestandteil der Züchtungsarbeit.

  • In-vitro-Kultur – das Kernstück der Erhaltung und schnellen Vermehrung unserer Sorten
  • ELISA-Test – ein immunbiologisches Verfahren zum Nachweis von Viruserkrankungen der Kartoffeln
  • PCR-Technik – Identifizierung von Sorten oder Zuchtstämmen mit Hilfe ihres „genetischen Fingerabdruckes“, sowie die Überprüfung von Zuchtmaterial auf Infektionen durch verschiedene Krankheitserreger

Vermehrung

Auf gesundes leistungsfähiges Pflanzgut kommt es an

Die Grundlage einer ertragreichen Produktion von Qualitätskartoffeln ist gesundes und leistungsfähiges Pflanzgut. Die Kartoffel wird im Gegensatz zu den meisten Kulturpflanzen vegetativ vermehrt und nicht über Samen. Die Gefahr der Übertragung von Krankheitserregern über das Pflanzgut ist daher besonders groß.

Mit der Entwicklung biotechnischer Verfahren haben sich in der Erhaltungszüchtung neue Möglichkeiten ergeben. Nicht Einzelstauden bilden nunmehr die Basis unserer Pflanzkartoffelerzeugung, sondern Pflanzen aus dem Reagenzglas, so genannte in-vitro-Pflanzen, die im Labor unserer Schwesterfirma BIOPLANT wachsen.

Als Ausgangsmaterial für die Gewebekultur dienen der BIOPLANT krankheitsfreie und sortenechte Knollen. Die Keimspitzen dieser Knollen werden zunächst desinfiziert und unter keimfreien Bedingungen im Reagenzglas auf speziellen Nährmedien angezogen. Innerhalb weniger Wochen entwickeln sich daraus kleine Pflanzen.

Zur Vermehrung werden die Pflanzen unter sterilen Bedingungen in zwei bis drei Stücke geschnitten, wobei jedes Teilstück mindestens ein Blatt aufweisen muss. In der Achse eines jeden Blattes sitzt eine ruhende Knospe, aus der sich ein neuer Spross entwickelt. Dieses Verfahren garantiert eine hohe Vermehrungsquote und ist ganzjährig einsetzbar.

Aus dem BIOPLANT Labor werden jährlich über 450.000 in-vitro-Pflanzen an unsere Erhaltungszuchtstationen ausgeliefert. Unsere Erhaltungszuchtstationen befinden sich in:

  • Freiburg an der Elbe
  • Böhlendorf
  • Kruckow
  • Hohenbrünzow
  • Obliwice

Die ersten Pflanzgutgenerationen vermehren unsere Kollegen auf den BNA Vermehrungsbetrieben in EU Gesundlagen. Diese befinden sich in:

  • Böhlendorf
  • Kruckow
  • Hohenbrünzow

Die Vermehrungsflächen unserer Vertragslandwirte befinden sich in den besten Anbaulagen Deutschlands.

Über unsere europäischen EUROPLANT Tochtergesellschaften vermehren wir Pflanzgut auch in den bevorzugten europäischen Vermehrungsgebieten, wie zum Beispiel in Finnland, den Niederlanden und Frankreich.